Tremendous weekend of jazz

There are some tremendous events packed into this weekend, mark your calendar!

This Saturday April 18, from 2-5 pm, I will be performing for National Record Store Day at Beat Merchant Records, the stalwart, time honoured music mecca in Steveston. Owned by music aficionado extraordinaire Frankie Neilson, this place has it all, and he can order anything you want. I'll be performing live and will have my complete catalogue there, and will do some cd signing. Expect some special guests (you know who you are, c'mon down!). The Beatmerchant, 160 / 12240 2nd Ave, Richmond, BC, V7E 3L8. An easy drive south on #2 Rd, #3 Rd, or Hwy 99 to Steveston Hwy, west into the scenic waterfront  MAP

Saturday evening I am at my 'roost' Ten Ten Tapas, after a week off for an Awards Show. I am bringing my new red trumpet (Zeff France) and have invited some special guests like Lisa Fennell and J. Anthony to join me. It is always a party, the food is great, and Sylvia will be your hostess with the mostess! Be sure to make a rezzie 604-689-7800!

Then on Sunday,  at 4 pm, I will be performing at the venerable Jazz Vespers at St Andrews Wesley United Church on Burrard at Nelson. Free parking below, alley entrance. Jazz Vespers is a tradition from the 40's, brought into the public eye by Duke Ellington and a few other icons in NYC. I will have a quartet made up of Tim Stacey on bass, Chris Haas on drums, and Jason Decouto on grand piano. We have a swinging, straight-ahead set planned with some classics from Horace Silver and Cole Porter, as well as a few originals. Rev Dan Chambers has a message prepared about how Hope and Belief Systems provide some structure in our lives and smooth out the sometimes rough ride. The music has been tailored to this message, so come and see how it all fits together....We'll keep it swingin' and joyous.

If you miss any of these events and would like some of my music, it can be found at the usual popular download providers, but all physical cds and downloads are available only from www.WindtunnelRecords.com. Read the stellar reviews of my latest release Open Invitation HERE.