Returning to Vancouver-upcoming events and tour pix

Yesterday April 30, was International Jazz Day... I think that is a great cause to promote and to name a day after! I tried to get this posted yesterday to coincide, but ..... 

Well, I am fast approaching YVR!

After almost a month on a performance tour that has taken me to The French Quarter Fest in New Orleans, Ft Lauderdale, Bahamas, Orlando, Phoenix and Las Vegas, I guess it is time to come back home! sounds like Sylvia and I missed the dreary days Vancouver had to offer, and I guess you could say our solar batteries are well charged.

This weekend will be very busy! It is a welcome home party of sorts for me all day, and I want you all to come out and be a part of it. The plane lands at YVR this Saturday May 3, at around 2 pm, and I will race home for a spritz and to pick up my valve trombone and some gear. I will load up the car and head down to Lux Lounge (1180 Howe) to perform with the iconic Billy Dixon and his Soultrain Express at 4 pm. The band is smokin', and Billy gives his classic repertoire a new spin and a real workout! 

At 7pm I hightail it out of there, down Howe St a couple of blocks and around the corner to Ten Ten Tapas at (1010 Beach Ave, on the seawalk), where I will restart my steady Saturday evening shows 7:30-10:30. After the tabs are paid the Lux Lounge crowd all heads over for dinner, and to carry on the good times at Ten Ten, where a slew of guests artists will join in on the fun. Singers and instrumentalists all get in on the act, and we (that would be you, too!) get to experience the trifecta of food, music, and location that Ten Ten has finally nailed.

But wait!

The Sunday Jazz brunches I started there at Ten Ten Tapas in December are back by popular demand, and the next day, Sunday May 4, I bring a different spin from the Saturday party vibe and get into classic, Sunday morning mellow 'brunch jazz', perfect accompaniment to a gorgeous view and the newly crafted brunch menu. Matthew, the new head chef, has created a wonderful eating experience at Ten Ten that is low on price but high on succulence! I play 11:30-2:00 and reservations are recommended (604) 689-7800.

MOTHER'S DAY is the following Sunday, May 11, so don't forget to make THIS your destination and do right by Mom. Special treats are in store..... 

I didn't get much good video of my shows on this trip, but below are a few recent ones from my Vegas shows last week. Keep checking back to this page and I will flesh it out with the NOLA and Florida videos as I can gather and edit content from the various cities on our journey.

Sylvia took lots of pix with her Nikon, and got a polarizer and wide angle lens while there. Here is a page flipper of New Orleans images, in no particular order, so have a browse. Other cities to be added soon...