A full weekend of music & don't forget Valentine's Day!

We don't sweat the small stuff, and we can all sleep when we are dead.... let's make life's moment's count!

OK, so the weather has just been 'meh', but it could easily be 'argghhh!' if Vancouver wasn't at the foot of that Pineapple Express.... let's all count our blessings, and breathe a sigh of relief that we aren't digging out from snow and that Fukashimi hasn't propogated three eyed fish (yet)...

That brings me to this weekend, arguably one of the romantic signposts in our culture, well spaced between other holidays to allow Hallmark time to restock all the shelves with current product.... of course, I am referring to Valentine's Day. He may have been a Saint, I am not sure anymore because his friends just call him Val.... 

Music is our lifeblood (which is certainly the right color for this holiday), and even before Valentine's festivities get underway, there is a ramp-up of great music (and art) options. I will share:

I am not superstitious, so it bothers me not in the least that it is Friday the 13th! So here is what's shakin':

I have swapped my regular Saturday night at Ten Ten Tapas (1010 Beach Ave, on the seawall) with Friday's romantic stalwart Rossi (on spanish guitar), and I will be holding court there Friday with my funky and classic brand of jazz. Start time 6:30 pm, make a rezzie!

Now, Saturday is PACKED!

First off, I'll be heading to renowned artist Raymond Chow's farewell sendoff at The Archer and Horseman Gallery at 1 pm (208 E 16th Ave); then at 2 pm I head to the Vancouver Public Library where I will be performing with the Urbana Big Band from 3 - 4:30 in the Alice McKay Room downstairs; after that I race outta there to Steveston where I am performing a special Valentines Day event at Shady Island Bar and Grill, right on the waterfront! It is not strictly a couples oriented event, and it goes early (6 - 9 pm), so you can still get your romance in later if you like. Great food and drink, and lots of special guests including Linda Szentes' Tribute to Ella Fitzgerald and more...... make a rezzie!

Hope you can make it!!!